New Beginnings for an Untidy Mind

punk


Oh, hello!

How to start?

I’ve been tempted to join the blogging community since I was about 15 years old, and always get to this point- this writing awkwardly about nothing in particular because you don’t know how to introduce yourself or if anyone really even cares- point.

So here I am, trying to fight the initial writers block and get past the introductions, so I can go on to more (hopefully) interesting things.

Shall we make this brief, then?

An Introduction:

I’m Sophie. I’m 23, and a classic Gen Y Millennial, constantly torn between old-school values, and liberation for all. I’m an Aunt, a dog-owner, and a wannabe badass. My favourite food is chicken nuggets, and I have a webbed finger, I can do funky stuff with my tongue, I have a teddy bear called Beaver…ok, now I’m just rambling…

To be honest- I don’t know what I am, or who I am, because that is constantly changing- so having to actually introduce myself in a way where I sound like I’ve got my shit together, is hard, because actually, my shit is totally not together.

What I am is: a complete living, breathing, contradiction. I’m fiercely independent, with big old brick walls that can rocket up in a matter of seconds when I feel threatened- I don’t need anyone or anything, and love isn’t real at all, everyone is out for themselves. The next second, I’m a hopeless romantic, who falls madly in love with everyone I meet, from the elderly lady in the Co-op who smiled at me nicely, to the dog walking down the opposite side of the street; I would carry the weight of the world on my shoulders for almost anyone, and it usually hits me like a wet fish round the face just how much I need the people who support me day in and day out.

I love to be alone, but I am needy.

I want to be skinny, but I want a big fat Five Guys.

I believe in fairness, and justice, and equality, but I want EDL members to suffer painful mishaps…

Basically, I’m flawed! My thoughts contradict themselves constantly, and it frustrates me to no end. But I like to think I rest on good morals, I put others first, and I don’t shy away from giving my opinion and taking other peoples into account.

So, that longwinded ramble has led me onto what I suppose you would call the ‘theme’ of my blogs. I want to write about things I care about- from my dog, to feminism/equality, to politics, to crime, to my boyfriend, to my best friend, to climate change, to body image, to anything and everything really!

Hopefully some of you out there may find my views interesting, and will want to hear more, but if not, that’s ok too 🙂

Anyway- see you again soon maybe, with a bit more of an exciting topic than myself.


P.s. sorry, that definitiley wasn’t ‘brief’

P.p.s isn’t it funny how when introducing yourself, you instantly go to say what you do for work?! I managed to avoid it in the end!

Bye! xo


 

Leave a Reply

