Lagos

excited-face.jpg


In 52 days and approximately 12 hours from now, I’ll be waking up from a no-doubt light and short slumber, jumping out of bed with the excitement resembling that of a young child on Christmas morning, and scurrying away to wash and dress in a hurry. I’ll leave Oliver asleep for a while, whilst I do some last minute packing of toiletries and chargers, until the time comes when I am fit to burst and can’t wait any longer, then I’ll try to coo a wakeup call softly, because I know my 3am excitement would not be a good match for his 3am grumpy reluctance to exit his sleep (though this is usually the case at 7am too).

Then, soon enough, we’ll be packing the car full of suitcases, in the eerie silence of the early morning, trying not to make a sound but feeling like my heart might beat through my chest. We’ll drive to the airport, where that eerie silence will come to an end as we join the crowds of holiday-goers, whilst the rest of the country are sound asleep in their beds.

Before we know it we’ll be up in the air, reading our e-books on the plane, watching the sunrise out of the windows, and then up, up, up into the clouds.

Finally, it will be touchdown time, that excitement that simmered whilst we were on the 3 hour flight is now bubbling up again as I see the blazing sun on the tarmac out of the window, knowing in just a short amount of time I’ll be back in the place that I love.

Lagos!

Lagos is a beautiful town situated on the western Algarve coastline in Portugal.

I first visited Lagos when I had just turned 18 years old, and it was my first ‘hot’ holiday. I loved everything about it, the weather was unlike anything I had ever experienced- a thorough scorching heat, but made bearable by a soothing breeze blowing gently and consistently from the bright blue sea surrounding the town. The views were incredible, like pictures I had only ever seen in magazines or on films; perfectly sandy beaches, clear, blue skies, caves and coves that were dotted with holes up above, that made the sea water swimming inside them look like a magical lagoon. We went on boat trips, some that dipped in and out of these beautiful rocks, and some that took us miles out into the ocean so that the coastline disappeared. This is where, for the first time in my life, I saw dozens of extraordinary wild dolphins dancing along the sides of the boat, putting on a show for all us awe-inspired passengers, who were ooh-ing and ahh-ing like we were watching a firework display.

I fell completely in love with Lagos, but the thing that really made it my favourite place on earth was the atmosphere, and the people. Unlike here where life often feels like a chore, in Lagos, everybody seemed so care-free and happy. The local people were the friendliest I have ever met, with kind faces, and a look of content about them. People would joke with us as we wondered around the town. The second time I went to Lagos, I had some incredibly interesting conversations with the local residents of the area, about their lives and mine, and I wished the pleasantries could be exchanged for longer than just the week I was there.

So, ever so soon, I’ll be there again, and I just can’t wait. I’m going to my favourite place in the world, with my favourite person in the world.

If you’re looking for somewhere to holiday, this year or the next, or the next, or the next…. I would definitely recommend Lagos 🙂


Bye xo


Lagos2

Lagos3Lagoslagos8Lagos4

Leave a Reply

